When you first get an Artlogic website you will receive a dev URL to access your Content Management System. Use this to access your site while getting your website ready and also once your site is live.
What does a dev URL look like?
- Your dev URL will have this structure and will be delivered to with your initial account details: website-appname.artlogic.net
- Your live URL will be purchased separately from a domain hosting company and will look something like this: www.yourwebsitename.com
Why do I have a dev URL?
The dev URLs exist so that a website and its CMS are always accessible for editing regardless of whether your domain is connected or not. If, for example, you lost access to your domain host and the DNS was changed, you would not be able to login to your CMS without this dev URL.
Benefits of using a dev URL
- All dev URLs have a robots.txt file that instructs search engines not to index them and therefore they are only known and found by those they are shared with. This is particularly useful when you're working on a site before it goes live. They will only show in search engines if links to them are shared publicly on websites, therefore, when sharing your website you should always use the live domain.
- Even once your website is live, by using the dev URL you will be able to see the changes made within seconds whereas when using the live domain these might take 5 to 10 minutes to come through.